The Mongolic language family comprises the following languages: Mongolian proper or Khalkha, Buryat, Kalmuck (Kalmyk), Dagur, Dongxiang (Santa), Baoan, Monguor (Tu), Eastern Yugur (Shera Uygur), and Mogoli. The classification of the Mongolic languages according to linguistic criteria is still ongoing. So far, the Mongolic languages have usually been classified by geographical region. Khalkha, Buryat and Kalmuck constitute the central languages of the Mongolic linguistic area; the remaining, more isolated languages are spoken along its southern edge. Some scholars classify the Mongolic languages as belonging to the Altaic language family, together with the Turkic and the Manchu-Tungusic languages.